Employment Contract…SIGNED!

Well, today was the day. I’ve been working at my new job for about 4 weeks now and really enjoying it. I’m being challenged, I’m respected by my colleagues, and I feel appreciated. Work has been great and I enjoy the people I’m working with!

That’s a good thing too, because today I signed the employment contract, which has a “special compensation clause” to pay back $50k of my student loans over the next 5 years (see “negotiating like a PAWN star“). I won’t get the first 10k until the first anniversary of my return to work here, and if I do decide to leave before the 5 years is up, I have to pay back the money that’s been disbursed, PLUS 3%. Yikes!

Luckily I have no intention to break that contract, and actually feel good about knowing we’ll be staying in the same physical location for the next 5 years. Job security at a place I enjoy! Win-win!

One thought on “Employment Contract…SIGNED!

Thoughts??

