The end (of 2014!) is near!

don-t-keep-calm-the-end-is-near

Yup, so we’ve got two days to go! YIKES! And unfortunately, there’s no sign of a Christmas bonus, which ironically I had mentioned in my last monthly update, “While I am expecting another huge bonus at the end of the year, I don’t want to assume I am getting a certain amount (always dangerous to assume that!).”

Almost creepy foreshadowing. 😦

I ended up having an unofficial annual review after I wrote that post, came to find out that I didn’t actually perform too well during our third quarter, and that overall my numbers weren’t as high as one of the overlords was expecting. (Again, the “how many Etch-a-Sketches have you made today, Buddy?” mentality I mentioned in my last post.) He kept trying to get me to explain why, and I thought it was pretty obvious that it was because they had hired another person during the second quarter, and thus we were splitting up the work between the two of us (rather unfairly, as the new guy got most of the new big accounts).

This is the first time at this job (or any job I’ve ever had), that I’ve been evaluated based on numbers, and it’s really demotivating when there are so many variables out of my control that affect the damn numbers. Another reason I’ve been disgruntled. So up until that point, I had expected at least a small bonus, but things are looking bleak. Typically the bosses will direct deposit it into our account by the end of the year (since it has to be in the calendar year for taxes), and nothing new was in this morning, so there’s still one more day…

In the meantime, this will be my 48th post for the year (HUZZAH!), so that means I have reached one of my 2014 goals of averaging 4 blog posts per month! Another yearly round-up to come soon. In the meantime, enjoy your New Year’s Eve and stay safe! 🙂

5 thoughts on “The end (of 2014!) is near!

  1. That’s a bummer about the bonus (were you able to point out the obvi to your boss who asked about third quarter?), but they still managed to get the Scrooge broomstick out their bum and give you a nice well-deserved bonus! Best wishes for 2015, can’t wait to hear more about wedding planning!! 🙂

    1. Still no bonus! But some of my lower ranking coworkers got one…so supposedly there might be another round of bonuses going out in the middle of January since some of us have incentive-based bonuses, and I guess they have to tally the numbers through to the end of the year. (The other guys that got theirs aren’t incentive-based.) that’s a possibility anyway, but I’m not holding my breath!

    2. Also, I was totally unprepared for this talk, since it was just sprung on me unofficially, and I had NO IDEA I was even doing badly during the 3rd quarter! How about telling me my numbers are terrible a bit sooner so we can all do something about it?!

Thoughts??

