The Next 5 Years…

So I’ve been at a crossroads at work recently. I’m just coming upon 2 years here and the past year has deteriorated into a job that I kind of dread and resent. When I was hired here, it was for a completely different site, really fast-paced, where you showed up at 7:30am and busted ass all day (lunch wasn’t typically until 1 or 2pm), but you were most always done and out the door by 4:30pm. The parking situation at work sucked, but I was happy to walk or bike to work each day (1.5 miles from where we used to live), as it was refreshing and forced me to get some exercise in on days I didn’t feel like exercising.

A year into it, I got moved to my current office full-time, because the guy that was previously here went bonkers and pretty much abandoned his post.

Of course, now I feel like I’m the one going bonkers–this job description is completely different than what I relocated to the Washington DC area for, as it is very numbers-oriented (the “how many Etch-a-Sketches have you made today, Buddy?” scene in Elf) and involves a lot of “outside calls”, driving out of the office to drum up more business, and longer hours. I feel like I’m always in the car, driving everywhere. We aren’t expected in the office until 8:00am (although my coworker that commutes from Annapolis sometimes saunters in closer to 8:30am), but it’s not unusual for me to be at this office until 6pm. I had originally consoled myself when they first moved me over to this office that it was a “promotion”, as I did get a 10% raise and more responsibilities…but now I feel like I’m doing much more than 10% more!

I also don’t feel like I’m being valued for the master’s degree that I’m still paying off over $71k for. (You know, the whole reason this blog exists in the first place.) There are different ways of getting into our field, and you don’t need a master’s degree to do what I’m doing, so my coworkers that are doing something similar to me have a lower degree, and may be even making more as they are both more into the sales side of things. Which is completely frustrating.

A lot of this frustration also seems to be coming to a head, as me and Mr. Bacon will be in the position to buy a home in the somewhat near future, which involves settling down and laying down some roots. BUT I just don’t feel like this is a job or location that I can see myself at for the next 5 years. When I applied for the original job, yes, but right now, no.

So in the meantime, I am keeping my options open. I think the universe is trying to tell me something, because in the last two months, I’ve been “courted” by three other companies, so at least I know that I’m a wanted commodity. I also realize that I don’t know everything there is to know in my field, so another year where I’m at will still give me plenty of much-needed experience. So I am not frustrated and disgruntled to the point of “must jump ship NOW!” but I will definitely be looking to make some changes in the next year…

5 thoughts on “The Next 5 Years…

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you are not happy at your current job and trust me I know the feeling. I don’t feel this way at my current job but the place I worked at for 3 years in college turned into a living hell for me. Sometimes I didn’t even want to get out of my car and walk in to work somedays (pathetic huh lol) But I’m glad to hear that you are keeping your options open for something else and gaining all the experience you can. I’d suggest cutting back on any expenses to beef up your savings more in case you had to walk away from your job early. I wish you all the best and hang in there!

    1. Thanks Chonce!! And thank you for stopping by my blog. I’m glad you are in a much better job situation now, and hope to join you where the grass is greener soon. 🙂 I have a pretty good lead right now, in an area with a much lower cost of living too, so that’s all promising. As always, will keep my readers posted! 🙂

Thoughts??

