Why I don’t side hustle…

AKA hooray, my raise just kicked in!! Along with a bit over $900 in retro pay since they activated the raise as of January 1st. Cha-ching!! That should take care of the overlapping rent this month as we move. Then the extra paycheck coming up in two weeks should cover the taxes I owe and maybe, just maybe I will actually be back on track this month. fingers crossed! πŸ™‚

So why don’t I side hustle? I’ve got enough potential for growth in my current career field as is (year #2 has only just begun in my specialty and you get paid more and more depending on experience) and so little free time with how busy they keep me that it doesn’t make sense. I’d rather have my spare time spent towards running or biking, or dates with the fiancΓ©…or more sleep!

Anyone else in the PF community *not* a side hustler?

13 thoughts on “Why I don’t side hustle…

  1. Yay, so glad it came through!! It’s well-deserved, girl. πŸ™‚ I don’t side hustle (yet), either, probably because of motivation reasons. I like having a lot of leisure time for activities and reading. πŸ™‚

    1. Lol the most motivated I got was inquiring about Trader Joe’s sign they posted about needing people with nice and artsy writing to do signs and posters. Turned out it was for a 20-hour/week position in their store. Nahhh….

      1. I know right. Most people in our community have a side hustle. I know I’m blessed that I’m in the position that I don’t have to get one.

        By the way I have a secret…….I have never had a martini…Lol! I plan on having my first one when I finally become debt free to celebrate…..whatever you do don’t tell anyone.

      2. That’s hilarious! I really like chocolate martinis and espresso martinis. Not so much the regular kind. And yes, I’m also definitely blessed to make as much as I do with continual potential for growth. Yay!!

  2. First thing….I love the name of your blog…Lol! I have also decided that I’m not going to do any side hustles because if I budget I have more than enough to pay towards my debt. Some people don’t get it but I do. Besides….all that free time goes to my daughter. That time is priceless.

    1. Hey, thanks for checking out my blog! Debt free martini sounds like a nice adult beverage πŸ™‚ I agree there’s only so many hours of the day; all work and no play would make me all kinds of cranky!

  3. Nice!

    I have gone back and forth with side hustles. Juggled multiple ones most of my life, took a break for a couple of years and focused on my day job, and now back to side hustling again. Lots of financial goals to hit! And we’re currently down to one income. Also, I’m in a field that isn’t very lucrative, so it’s the logical thing to do. In some fields it makes more sense to focus on the day gig.

      1. The bullshit-free bride!! I love it. Gonna have to remember that tagline when people start chiming in with their opinions on how I should have my big day πŸ™‚

Thoughts??

