Over Here, Undercover Boss!

Mr. Bacon LOVES his reality shows. He watches anything from redneck series like Duck Dynasty and Lizard Lick Towing, to Shipping Wars, Million Dollar Listing, Bar Rescue, and…the one that actually holds my attention span, Undercover Boss. I get extremely envious (kinda) of the employees that they manage to wrangle up on Undercover Boss. Well, maybe not really their background, but their good fortune at the end of the show. The producers of the show always seem to find the SADDEST stories. Like the young single mom with three kids who lost her own mom to breast cancer, doesn’t have a reliable car, and works overtime while also going to school. The guy who went to college but has to support his father who got paralyzed in a car wreck, and now works two jobs while paying off his student loans. Of course these star employees are also the nicest, most loyal and hardworking kids at the fast food joints. At the end of each episode, the undercover boss is all like ta-da! It was really me, the CEO of your huge fast food corporation! Here’s $50,000 for a down payment on a house, a brand new car, and $25,000 to pay off your student loans! And…I’ll give you your own franchise! Or pay tuition so you can attain your dream of going to culinary school!

And I’m like…wait…hey…where’s MY undercover boss offering to pay off MY student loans?

Well, obviously it would be too obvious because the two owners of our really small company are very conspicuous looking. But are there secret video cameras around? Because they would show I’m a really hard worker who cares about our clients! Well, I think they already know that without the secret cameras. 😎

The promotion update…as suspected, Employee X got fired, or rather technically “resigned” by not showing up for 3 consecutive days of work. This became official 2 weeks later, on Tuesday when I last posted. I did, BTW, get off work sorta early, at least everyone else got to go home before noon if they came in at all, while me and the supervisor discussed “What next???” in the office and then out at lunch. (Note to self: the little red car does NOT like driving in the snow!) He wanted to know what made me tick, in terms of making me work harder, i.e. was it for the money or for climbing up the ladder?

I blurted out, “I’m motivated to pay off my student loans!” and mentioned the possibility of having the owners pay off the loans instead of giving me a raise. Then I told him how much it was ($86k!) and he was like WHOA. He also thought paying for the loans and giving me a raise were kind of the same thing, as they wouldn’t just pay the loans completely outright (yeah, we all know that $86k is a FAT LUMP O’ DEBT). If they paid Sallie Mae, they would still have to pay tax on it, so it’d be the same as me getting my paychecks taxed before sending off the money to Sallie Mae.

So, taking over the position of the ex-coworker (Employee X, see what I did there??) would supposedly give me enough of a raise that I could pay off my debt in 2 or 3 years (according to the supervisor). What he doesn’t know, is that the aggressive version of my current “Game Plan” has me paying it off in 3 years ANYWAY (by Jan 2017). Well, 2 years is certainly better! Maybe it’d be 2 years, and enough savings for the wedding fund! The other option (as they are in the process of hiring some fresh meat), is to stick with the original plan of me opening up a new office in downtown DC and being in charge of that one. But it may not happen until this summer.

The Tuesday discussions didn’t really have any conclusions, and if anything, he wanted to give me time to think about things. We parted with him saying “I know there are more questions than answers right now.” Either way, it seems that I’m in line to get a promotion one way or the other, I just have to decide which I’d want to do. I’m leaning towards staying at our current office and helping to get that much more organized and efficient, as I’ve already got good relationships with the people there, rather than start from scratch. AND…it’s also what I’ve been already doing for the last 3 weeks!

That’s right, work stress has at an all-time high as I find myself working longer hours which leaves little time for much else. I feel like I’m hard-wired to work hard (having been one of those nerdy overachiever Asian kids with a Tiger Mom and endurance junkie) and I don’t mind working so much as I honestly do enjoy what I do, but it’s the not having time for enough sleep, exercise, and my relationship that take a toll. I haven’t exercised since Tuesday (the half snow day), and while me and Mr. Bacon are out of town right now, I did bring my work laptop to catch up on paperwork. 😦 It never ends and while I feel bad for being a workaholic, the new fiancé is being as supportive as possible since he sees how stressed out I am. 😳

In the meantime, I’m hanging in here, trying to get my socializing and exercise on during the weekends. *sigh* Am I going to become one of those “weekend warriors”?

SO…any reality TV shows you can relate to? Do you watch Undercover Boss???

4 thoughts on “Over Here, Undercover Boss!

  1. my husband likes undercover boss, so i watch it occasionally if it’s on. they should hurry up and make a decision so you can start plotting how fast you’ll be able to pay off debt!! that’s a large chunk of change in a few short years

    1. Yes! My supervisor is back from vacation today so maybe he was testing how I’d run the office on my own for a couple days. And give me time to think about what I want. I’m ready!!

  2. Remember to take care of yourself even if you’re super busy though. I get mad at my hubby for skipping lunch and not moving at all from his office just working hours straight. Hope everything works out the way you want.

Thoughts??

